On moving on, moving up and moving forwards.

Moving swiftly on from our rather trivial #equestrianproblems, I’ve yet to write up our second elementary outing on here.  It was a pretty encouraging experience, even if we did get very, very wet and I’m not entirely sure I came home with the right sheet…  Scores were much higher than previously, but I reckon this reflects the judge rather than any real improvement on our part, so I’m considering this to be fairly unimportant.  More important was how he worked in – smartly, very forwards, very responsive and rideable – and how he went in the test.

If I’m honest, I’m less than convinced by our collected trot – it wasn’t stellar, but he can do better at home, so how much of this is me and how much is the bodged time keeping and work in he had before going in, I’m not sure.  His mediums were a little rushed – I need to trust him to move forwards and not badger him into rushing, because there was actually a bigger trot behind the rushing too.  I killed the canter before the simple change and we sort of splatted into it.  On the upside, the upward part was alright.  So there’s loads of room to improve, but all in it was very educational and not horrific by any means.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sz7qYI_9bqY

Moving up.  We’re now officially registered with British Dressage.  I even have the cards to prove it!  I’ve written out our entry for E43 at Norton Heath on the 21st.  Injuries and disasters aside, I think we’re on.  I’ll be pleased with a score over 55% at this level affiliated, I think.  I’d be pretty darn happy to break 60% and downright ecstatic with a >62% AF sheet (I consider this a pipe dream at present, if I’m honest).  Only time will tell…

Moving forwards, I think we need to build on how powerful I can get his paces during tests.  This is partly ringcraft and partly a gap in our general training, and I think it’s somewhere we could use some help.  I have been making plans, and not world domination plans for once in my life (seriously, I swear I was a Bond villain in a previous life!).  I think I need to broaden my net and seek more input.  We have a lesson next weekend with the instructor who we enjoyed our last lesson with – I think there’s a lot we can take from these sessions and I’m really looking forward to it.  I’m considering a couple of other trainers too who have been recommended in the area – pretty big names, which scares me a bit as I do feel a tad conspicuous on my little midget pony!  I’m hoping we can have a few sessions and take some useful stuff away from it, without anyone asking what I think I’m doing on him…

I have been considering doing my BHS stages and trying to get some teaching qualifications under my belt.  I “teach” an unrelated subject in my day job (I’m not a teacher :p ) and I would love to pick up some work teaching something I love too.  I don’t have a competitive record, or masses of experience, so I don’t know if the idea is a bit ridiculous.  But I do feel like I have something to offer, to a certain level and type of rider, and I’d like to try.  I just need to be brave and start putting myself forward for more training and ultimately exams.  Today is a good day to die and all that!

2 thoughts on “On moving on, moving up and moving forwards.

  1. I have no teaching qualifications and I wouldn’t go to many instructors that have the highest of BHS qualifications. Knowledge, a good eye and an honest but sympathetic way with words is pretty much all you need. Insurance is a little more expensive but the cost of the BHSAI course makes the difference negligible IMO.

    • Ah but you have a competition record, which means people “know” you know what you’re doing. I have no credentials (well no riding related ones – a PhD in genetics of foal bacteria isn’t a big draw!). I’m thinking UKCC might be a better route though – more coaching, less daft BHS nonsense!

Leave a comment